More/Fitness Women’s Half Marathon Recap

I had planned on posting this yesterday, but in light of what happened in Boston, I decided it would be best to hold off.  As a I said yesterday, I am still deeply saddened by what happened and I’m keeping everyone in my prayers.

******************************************************

On Sunday I ran the More/Fitness Women’s Half Marathon.  I was completely unprepared.  I don’t think going on one five mile run since last fall really counts as training, but whatever.  My plan for the race was to run a bit, walk a bit, and basically just enjoy myself, since it was supposed to be a nice day in Central Park.

photo 1

Obviously it was crowded at the start.  I’m usually in the last or second to last corral(yay for being super slow!), but somehow i ended up behind the race walker at the start.  So that was super fun – trying to dodge through ladies walking six abreast.  Not cool.

But anyway,I had a great time.  I ran until I was tired, then walked a bit, then ran some more.  Basically it was just a nice way to spend a few hours in the sun, getting some exercise and rocking out to Justin Beiber on my ipod.

photo 2

AND Deena Kastor ran by me!  Girl is fast!  Also, she has my same Garmin watch.  We’re practically twins.

morefitnesshalf

Official finish time was 2:30:32.

My next race is in five weeks, so hopefully I’ll actually run between now and then and be able to improve a little bit.

Leave a Reply

