Random Reads: The Fault in Our Stars

This is my first time participating in Julie’s virtual book club!  I have been reading her blog for a long time now and I usually read the book of the month but never post a review, so here we go..

ImagePlot Summary

Hazel is sixteen, with terminal cancer, when she meets Augustus at her kids-with-cancer support group. The two are kindred spirits, sharing an irreverent sense of humor and immense charm, and watching them fall in love even as they face universal questions of the human condition–How will I be remembered? Does my life, and will my death, have meaning?–has a raw honesty that is deeply moving.

My Thoughts

This book tugged at my heart strings.  It made me laugh, it made me cry and it certainly made me appreciate my own health.  While I didn’t find Hazel and Augustus to be too believable as teenagers(speaking in metaphors, memorizing poetry, etc), I still found their interactions and dialogue to be sweet and adorable.

I don’t typically read young adult books, but I wanted to join in the book club AND this book was #1 on the New York Times Bestseller List for weeks, so I figured it was worth a read.  Overall, I would recommend this book to pretty much anyone – especially anyone who has dealt with a loss in their life.

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.”
-John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

One thought on “Random Reads: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Pingback: The Fault In Our Stars | Peanut Butter Fingers

Leave a Reply

